Certification Information

Yogacharya BKS Iyengar first visited Australia in 1983 his visit generating great interest in his method and teaching. In 1985 he certified thirteen Australian teachers at Intermediate Junior 3, a standard to train teachers. In 1987, with his blessing, the first assessment was held in Sydney, 12 teachers receiving their Introductory 2 certificates.

Since that time, assessment of teachers have been conducted on a twice yearly basis with assessment of teachers up to and including Intermediate Junior level 3. Today there are over 300 certified teachers in Australia.

Levels of Certification

The system of teaching Iyengar Yoga is methodical and progressive emphasizing a systematic approach to teaching asana and pranayama applying the methods of technique, timings and sequence to achieve yogasana. The process of certification is based on a process consisting of five levels with several sub levels. A teacher is given permission to use the Iyengar Certification Mark at Introductory Level as a testament to their accreditation and certification level.

The five levels are:

  • Introductory Level
  • Intermediate Junior (Levels I, II and III)
  • Intermediate Senior (Levels I, II and III)
  • Advanced Junior (Levels I, II and III)
  • Advanced Senior (Levels I, II)

Full details of the application processes and info packs for each level can be found via the teacher and trainee logins on the levels of certification page.

Each of these levels has a specific syllabus of asanas and pranayamas. To progress a teacher must, at an assessment, meet the standard of practice and teaching appropriate for the level. It is important to note that teachers may train teachers, assess, teach remedial and pregnancy classes only when specific levels of certification are attained. Levels above Intermediate Junior Level III are assessed by Mr Iyengar or his designate and teachers above this level are considered senior teachers.

Teacher training and assessment procedures have been established over the years to worldwide standards under the guidance of BKS Iyengar. Iyengar Yoga Australia conducts assessment throughout the year usually scheduled around May and October depending on the number of applicants.

A teacher’s certificate is considered current only if they renew their Certification Mark licence each year. The licence may only be used by teachers certified by the Association or by BKS Iyengar himself.

Certified teachers and teachers in training can use their membership login to access the Teachers and Trainees area of this website. Detailed information on the assessment process, on certification, on insurance and other updates are viewable on these pages.

Member Login:
Lost your Password?